Darden School Foundation Board of Trustees

  • The Darden School Foundation

    The supportive relationship between the Darden School and the Darden School Foundation began with the initiative of business leaders who, under the guidance of former University President Colgate W. Darden Jr., secured the initial endowment funds necessary to found the School in the early 1950s.

    The Darden School Foundation is an independent, nonprofit, tax-exempt corporation that was incorporated on 29 December 1952.The Foundation supports the Darden School and its academic mission by:

    • Promoting philanthropic support from alumni, friends and corporations
    • Managing endowment funds for the School's exclusive benefit
    • Operating Darden's top-ranked Executive Education programs, the Inn at Darden and Abbott Center hospitality

    Darden School Foundation Board of Trustees

    An elected Board of Trustees oversees the Foundation’s strategies, providing an important link between the academic and business communities.

    Members 2014-15


    James A. Cooper (MBA ’84)
    Founder and Senior Managing Partner, Thompson Street Capital Partner

    Vice Chair

    Elizabeth K. Weymouth (MBA ’94)
    Partner, Riverstone Holdings LLC

    Kirby C. Adams (MBA ’79)
    Deputy Chair of Trans-Tasman Resources Limited, Trans-Tasman Resources Limited (TTR)

    W.L. Lyons Brown III (MBA ’87)
    Founder and Chief Executive Officer, Altamar Brands LLC

    Susan J. Chaplinsky (Faculty)
    Tipton R. Snavely Professor of Business Administration, University of Virginia Darden School of Business

    G. David Cheek (MBA ’79)
    President and Founder, The Meridian Group

    James S. Cheng (MBA ’87)
    Principal, New Richmond Ventures

    Vidyanidhi (VN) Dalmia (MBA ’84)
    Chair, Dalmia Continental Pvt. Ltd.

    Louis G. Elson (MBA ’90)
    Managing Partner, Palamon Capital Partners LLP

    Arnold B. Evans (MBA/JD ’97)
    President and Chief Executive Officer, SunTrust Robinson Humphrey

    Catherine J. Friedman (MBA ’86)
    Independent Consultant

    Donald W. Goodman (MBA ’84)
    Retired, The Walt Disney Company

    Kirsti W. Goodwin (MBA ’02)

    Gordon Grand III (MBA ’75)
    Managing Director, Russell Reynolds Associates Inc.

    Ned Hooper (MBA ’94)
    Founding and Managing Partner, Centerview Capital

    Robert J. Hugin (MBA ’85)
    Chair and Chief Executive Officer, Celgene Corporation

    Martina T. Hund-Mejean (MBA ’88)
    Chief Financial Officer, MasterCard Worldwide

    William I. Huyett (MBA ’82)
    Director, McKinsey & Company

    Philip W. Knisely (MBA ’78)
    Advisor, Clayton, Dubilier & Rice

    Lemuel E. Lewis (MBA ’72)
    President, Local/Weather.com

    Nicole M. Lindsay (MBA ’99/JD ’00)
    Director of Leadership Development, ZOOM Foundation

    Elizabeth H. Lynch (MBA ’84)
    Senior Managing Director, Evercore

    Luann J. Lynch (Faculty)
    Professor of Business Administration, University of Virginia Darden School of Business

    Carolyn S. Miles (MBA ’88)
    President and Chief Executive Officer, Save the Children

    Michael E. O’Neill (MBA ’74)
    Chair, Citigroup

    Zhiyuan (Jerry) Peng (MBA ’03)
    Chair And Chief Executive Officer of Tranlin Inc. 

    Scott A. Price (MBA/MA ’90)
    Executive Vice President and Chief Administration Officer, Walmart International and President and CEO, Walmart Asia

    Admiral Gary Roughead
    Annenberg Distinguished Visiting Fellow, Stanford Hoover Institution

    Frank M. Sands Sr. (MBA ’63)
    Founder and Chair, Sands Capital Management

    Frank M. Sands Jr. (MBA ’94)
    Chief Executive Officer and Chief Investment Officer, Sands Capital Management

    Henry F. Skelsey (MBA ’84)
    Co-Founder and co-CEO, 3QU Media LLC

    Susan S. Sobbott (MBA ’90)
    President of Global Corporate Payments, American Express

    John R. Strangfeld Jr. (MBA ’77)
    Chair and CEO, Prudential Financial Inc.

    George S. Tahija (MBA ’86)
    Commissioner and Chair, PT Austindo Nusantara Jaya (ANJ)

    Bruce R. Thompson (MBA ’90)
    Chief Financial Officer, Bank of America

    William P. Utt (MBA ’84)
    Retired, KBR Inc.

    Thomas R. Watjen (MBA ’81)
    President and Chief Executive Officer, Unum Group

    Roger L. Werner Jr. (MBA ’77)
    Co-Chair, Outdoor Channel Holdings Inc.

    Ex-Officio Trustees

    Robert F. Bruner         
    Dean, Darden School of Business

    Karen K. Edwards (MBA '84) 
    CEO, Kosiba Edwards Associates

    John Fowler (JD/MBA '84)           
    Vice Chair of Investment Banking, Wells Fargo

    Jonathan D. Mariner 
    Chief Investment Officer, Major League Baseball

    Douglas T. Moore (MBA '80)
    President & CEO, Med-Air Homecare

    Rick Paschal (MBA '89)          
    Senior Vice President & Chief Financial Officer, International Business Group, for Coach Inc.

    Richard P. Shannon, M.D.       
    Executive Vice President for Health Affairs, University of Virginia

    John D. Simon 
    Executive Vice President and Provost, University of Virginia

    Teresa A. Sullivan       
    President, University of Virginia