Resilience Awards

About the Awards

The Tayloe Murphy Resilience Awards competition is held on a bi-annual basis, to be presented next in 2016. A conference on resilience in business is planned for March 2015.

Five Resilience Award winners are selected from a pool of distinguished finalists in the following categories, plus the Chairman’s Award:

  • Agriculture 
  • Manufacturing/Wholesale 
  • Retail 
  • Service 

The Resilience Awards inspire pride in the businesses’ communities and offers support and resources to help companies grow sustainably through:


Darden is committed to helping showcase finalists, winners and their respective communities through a wide array of sustained media coverage. Specific support for all winners and some finalists includes press releases, story pitching, scheduling interviews, events and inclusion in next year's Resilience Awards marketing materials. See media coverage of past Resilience Award winners at the Resilience Awards Media page.


Darden actively works to connect finalists and winners with key leaders from both the private and public sectors. Winners and finalists enjoy a wide range of networking opportunities that lead to increased financing and partnerships, access to talented new employees, closer relations with local, state and national officials, as well as the more intangible benefits, such as credibility, name recognition, and the opportunity to learn from other businesses.

Darden Executive Education Program

With a full scholarship to attend one of the Darden's open-enrollment Executive Education programs, Resilience Award winners are taught by full-time Darden faculty members. These thought leaders incorporate experiential learning in conjunction with relevant business case studies into each class. Darden’s Executive Education consistently earns high ratings by the Financial Times in its annual survey. 


The Tayloe Murphy Resilience Awards competition highlights businesses that demonstrate sustained vitality in communities facing challenging economic conditions. Businesses that qualify: 

  • Are located in a community facing pressing economic challenges (with high poverty, high unemployment, and low self-employment);
  • Have been in business for five years and can show growth;
  • Have more than one employee; and
  • Can demonstrate support for their community.


During award presentation years, we highlight the work of all of our finalists and winners at an awards ceremony at the University of Virginia Darden School of Business. If you are a member of the press interested in attending the ceremony, please contact us via e-mail.

Still have some questions about the awards? Read some of our Frequently Asked Questions, or contact us at +1-434-982-2177 or via e-mail.

    top of page


    • Featured Video

      Tayloe Murphy Resilience Awards 2012

      The Tayloe Murphy Resilience Awards is a unique competition that highlights and supports strong, resilient businesses in some of Virginia's most economically-challenged communities. This video highlights 2012 finalists and winners as well as recent research on resilient businesses.