Darden School Foundation

About Darden - Leadership - Darden School Foundation Board of Trustees

Board of Trustees

The Darden School Foundation

The supportive relationship between the Darden School and the Darden School Foundation began with the initiative of business leaders who, under the guidance of former University President Colgate W. Darden Jr., secured the initial endowment funds necessary to found the School in the early 1950s.

The Darden School Foundation is an independent, nonprofit, tax-exempt corporation that was incorporated on 29 December 1952. The Foundation supports the Darden School and its academic mission by:

  • Promoting philanthropic support from alumni, friends and corporations
  • Managing endowment funds for the School's exclusive benefit
  • Operating Darden's top-ranked Executive Education programs and ownership of The Forum Hotel on the Darden Grounds

Darden School Foundation Board of Trustees

An elected Board of Trustees oversees the Foundation’s strategies, providing an important link between the academic and business communities.


Frank M. Sands (MBA ’94) 
Chief Investment Officer and CEO, Sands Capital  

Vice Chair

John D. Fowler Jr. (MBA/JD ’84)
Vice Chair, Corporate and Investment Banking, Wells Fargo

Immediate Past Chair

Martina Hund-Mejean (MBA ’88) 
Former Chief Financial Officer, Mastercard 


Members 2023–24

John P. Bolduc (MBA ’90)
Executive Managing Director, H.I.G. Capital

H. William Coogan Jr. (MBA ’82)
Former CEO & Chairman, Firstmark Corp. 

James A. Cooper (MBA ’84)
Senior Managing Partner and Founder, Thompson Street Capital Partners

Charles R. Cory (MBA/JD ’82)
Former Chairman of Global Technology Banking, Morgan Stanley & Co. Inc.

Guillaume M. Cuvelier (MBA ’91)
Founder, SVEDKA

Robert G. Doumar Jr. (MBA/JD ’88)
Founder and Managing Partner, Park Square Capital LLP

Debra D. Draughan (MBA ’84)
Managing Member, The Process Management Group LLC 

Franklin S. Edmonds Jr. (MBA/JD ’95)
Partner, Panning Capital Management LP

Arnold B. Evans (MBA/JD ’97)
Managing Director and Co-Lead of Emerging Middle Market Group, JPMorgan Chase

Catherine J. Friedman (MBA ’86) 
Executive Venture Partner, GV

Kirsti W. Goodwin (MBA ’02)
Managing Director, Tower 3 Investments 

Peter M. Grant II (MBA ’86)
Founding Partner, Anchormarck Holdings, LLC

Owen D. Griffin Jr. (MBA ’99)
President and CFO, Currie Medical

Elizabeth McMillan Hagood (MBA ’89)
Former Executive Director, Lowcountry Open Land Trust

Connie J. Hallquist (MBA ’91)
President, Garnet Hill

Robert L. Huffines (MBA ’92)
Global Chairman, Investment Banking, JPMorgan Chase

Robert J. Hugin (MBA ’85)
Former CEO, Celgene

Mark J. Kington (MBA ’88)
Partner, Kington Management LLC

David M. LaCross (MBA ’78)
Founder, Former President and CEO, Risk Management Technologies

Beverly B. Ladley (MBA ’92)
Financial Services Executive and Management Consultant

Douglas R. Lebda (EMBA ’14)
Founder, Chairman and CEO, LendingTree

Lemuel E. Lewis (MBA ’72) 
Principal, Iv Media LLC

Amanda Lozano (MBA ’09)
Chief Development Officer, Spoke Sciences Inc.

Richard A. Mayo (MBA ’68)
Chairman and CEO, Game Creek Capital

Sachin J. Mehra (MBA ’96)
CFO, Mastercard Worldwide

Donald E. Morel Jr. (TEP ’97)
Managing Partner, Progenitor Capital LLC

Kimberly B. Morrish (MBA ’93)
Co-Owner and Non-Executive Director, Ground Control Ltd.

J. Byrne Murphy (MBA ’86)
Chairman and Co-Owner, DigiPlex Group Companies

Adair B. Newhall (MBA ’09)
Principal, Greenspring Associates

G. Ruffner Page Jr. (MBA ’86)
President and COO, O'Neal Industries Inc.

William H. Payne II (GEMBA '22)
Managing Partner, Coalfield Strategies LLC

Carl E. Peoples (MBA ’94)
Managing Director, Goldman Sachs

Matt J. Reintjes (MBA ’04)

William Q.O. Shelton Jr. (MBA ’93)
Chief Marketing Officer, Group 1001

Erik A. Slingerland (MBA ’84)
Managing Partner, EAS International SA

Robert W. Smith (MBA ’87)
Former Vice President and Portfolio Manager, T. Rowe Price Co.

Shannon G. Smith (MBA ’90)
Chief Executive Officer, The Abundant Power Group

Susan N. Sobbott (MBA ’90)
Former President of Global Commercial Services, American Express

Anand E. Stanley (MBA ’03)
President, Asia-Pacific Airbus

Mark J. Styslinger
Senior Vice President, Altec Inc.

Bruce R. Thompson (MBA ’90)
Vice Chairman; President, EU and Switzerland; CEO, BAMLI DAC, Bank of America

Lilo Simmons Ukrop (MBA ’89)
Visiting Lecturer, Darden School of Business

Steven C. Voorhees (MBA ’80)
Former President and CEO, WestRock

Jimmy Jianzhong Wei (MBA ’02)
Chief Business Officer, ImaGene Pharmaceuticals

Martie Edmunds Zakas (MBA/JD ’84)
CEO, Mueller Water Products

Ex-Officio Trustees

Scott C. Beardsley
Dean, Darden School of Business 

Richard B. Evans
Associate Professor, Darden School of Business

Yael Grushka-Cockayne
Professor and Senior Associate Dean for Professional Degree Programs, Darden School of Business

Michelle B. Horn (MBA ’95)
Senior Vice President and Chief Strategy Officer, Delta Air Lines

Paul G. Mahoney
David and Mary Harrison Distinguished Professor, University of Virginia School of Law

C. Evans Poston Jr. (EMBA ’17)
Director of Government Affairs, Hunton Andrews Kurth

James E. Ryan 
President, University of Virginia

Cynthia Soledad (MBA ’02)
Global Lead, Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Practice, Chief Marketing Officer and Consumer Practice, Egon Zehnder